UFC Fight Night 24

Antonio Rogerio Nogueira is a Brazilian mixed martial artist and an amateur boxer. He was entitled as the Brazilian Super Heavyweight Champion in the year 2006 and 2007. On August 28 2009, Dana White had announced that Nogueira signed a contract with the UFC. Nogueira won the UFC 106 event against Luiz Cane with a sweeping left hook finishing his opponent with punches at 1:56 on the first round.

Nogueira was then scheduled to fight Brandon Vera at UFC 109 but then he was forced to take the fight off because of a fractured ankle he got while training. His next fight was against Forrest Griffin at UFC 114 but it fails when Griffin pulled out the fight due to a shoulder injury. Griffin was then replaced by Jason Brilz, and Nogueira won a split decision. He then faced Ryan Bader but he lost the fight via unanimous decision. Finally, Nogueira was expected to fight against Tito Ortiz at UFC Fight Night 24 but Ortiz was forced to withdrawn from the match because of a cut during training, and replaced by Phil Davis. Nogueira was now having a 19-4 mixed martial arts record.

On the other hand, Phil Kwabina Davis is an American mixed martial artist currently fighting on a light heavyweight division at UFC. Both Nogueira and Davis signed a contract with the UFC in the 2009, but Nogueira was earlier than Davis as Davis signed in the month of December. On February 2010 at UFC 109, Davis won the fight against Brian Stann. Davis defeated Alexander Gustafasson on the first round with Anaconda Choke at 4 minutes and 55 seconds time on April 2010. Davis faced Rodney Wallace last August 2010, he won the fight with unanimous decision. On November 20, 2010, Davis won the match against Tim Boetsch by a modified kimura submission and then awarded for the submission of the night and received Submission of the Year award. Davis and Matt Hamill match was expected in Toronto at UFC 129 but Hamill replaced for Thiago Silva. Davis against Jason Brilz was set but it change again as he will fill in for Tito Ortiz. Finally, Davis is now set to face Nogueira at UFC Fight Night 24 having his undefeated record of 8-0.


See the Official Fight Card:

Preliminary Card

Lightweight bout:   Waylon Lowe vs.   Nik Lentz

Middleweight bout:   Mario Miranda vs.   Aaron Simpson

Welterweight bout:   Johny Hendricks vs.   TJ Waldburger

Preliminary Card (Facebook)

Heavyweight bout:   Sean McCorkle vs.   Christian Morecraft

Bantamweight bout:   Michael McDonald vs.   Edwin Figueroa

Welterweight bout:   John Hathaway vs.   Kris McCray

Heavyweight bout:   Jon Madsen vs.   Mike Russow

Featherweight bout:   Alex Caceres vs.   Mackens Semerzier

Main CarD

Featherweight bout:   Leonard Garcia vs.   Chan Sung Jung

Welterweight bout:   Amir Sadollah vs.   DaMarques Johnson

Welterweight bout:   Dan Hardy vs.   Anthony Johnson

Light Heavyweight bout:   Antônio Rogério Nogueira vs.   Phil Davis

blogging again..
Article Source